Buttermilk Sourdough Cornbread

I’ve been on a sourdough making kick as of late and have been infusing my starter discard in just about everything that pops into my mind. My latest venture is adding discard to my cornbread and the results are fantastic. This is something my whole family has loved. The best thing is that everything is mixed in one large bowl for easy preparation and clean up.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sourdough starter
  • 1 cup corn flour
  • 1 cup stone ground corn (I used polenta/corn grits)
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp mace
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 3/4 cup raw cane sugar
  • 2/3 cup sunflower or avocado oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Directions

Add sourdough discard, corn flour, corn meal, all purpose flour, and remaining eight (8) ingredients into a large mixing bowl. Using a wire whisk, mix until everything is well incorporated. Set aside. Grease a 9×12 pan and pour mixture into pan. Spread evenly and place into a 350 degrees oven. Bake for about 40 minutes, until golden brown, and a toothpick inserted into middle comes out clean.

Remove from oven and let cool. Drizzle with butter, honey, and or fresh herbs and serve.

Leave a comment